theoaksremaincoverIn a world divided by blood and race, Veralee Harper comes of age under the guardian oaks of her family’s isolated plantation in southern Alabama. Red Oaks stands frozen in time, a haven for Simulacrum people for generations, against the chaotic world of the Friguscor. Life quickly unravels when her own split second decision breaks the Simulacrum law she is bound to keep. The blood moons have begun, the watchers have returned and war with the cold-hearts, the Friguscor seems inevitable. As she struggles to reconcile deep love for her family and loyalty to her people with the reality she is coming to know and the love she finds for a mysterious man, she realizes she is marked by more than the tseeyen on her arm. Many have a plan for Veralee Harper, but only she can decide which way it will end.

Cover Design: Ryan Gausman
Website Design: Melissa Downy

Review from Brandi Herr, Winner of the First to Finish Ebook Competition
“I cannot recommend this book highly enough! In a generation so far separated from the struggles of the New Testament, Ms. Gibbs creates a world that young adults can relate to, and suffers the same struggles. In the vein of “The Hunger Games” and “Divergent”, the story takes us into a dystopian society, where the people are separated in two races, the Simulacrum and the Friguscor. The Simulacrum, a race whose blood protects them, and the Friguscor, who begin dying and decaying from the moment of birth. While they live in the same world, The Simulacrum stay hidden in plain sight, as history has shown great atrocities against them by the Friguscors. When Veralee Harper breaks one of the most sacred laws created by The Simulacrum for their protection, her entire understanding of her people and their beliefs come into question. If there is a chance that the Friguscor can be saved, is it worth the risk? Thus begins an internal battle similar to that faced by the Jews who believed Christ was the Savior and those who did not. Veralee begins to realize that blindly following the ancient traditions and laws will not save them for the Friguscor. And as war approaches, those who follow the law will stop at nothing to follow it”
-Brandi Herr

Share

One thought on “About The Oaks Remain

Leave a Reply to Jacquelyn Kalaher Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>